One wedding, one funeral

It happened on Saturday. My help was requested by our priest [though he is not a pastor, I like that word better]. I was his third and fourth hand. A helping hand.

I find wedding ceremonies extremely interesting and illuminating. As an altar boy/ministrant I have the honour and the privilege to see and study everybody’s face and the expressions of the emotions on them.

Lately I was present at four. And two was amazing. [I’m not saying that the other two was not good, anyway … you can not rate wedding ceremonies as goods and bad ones, but that two was outstanding] You could feel in the air, that the bride and the groom really did want it. They wanted it, not because it is a social convention, but because they can’t imagine it otherwise.

I wanted to write about weddings earlier. But I didn’t, and the Lord’s name shall be praised for it.

My opinion/attitude has changed, in about two weeks.  Lately I couldn’t imagine how could two people, who possibly do not know everything about each other, say the words. The words bounding them till eternity. How? Isn’t it a kind of irresponsible behaviour? Not just a kind of but vaguely! And sometimes I had the feeling that just in the last minutes, the whole life of the groom rolls before his eyes. And I could totally understand him. Fear, the fear from the ‘What if?’. You can’t predict what’s going to happen. There is no trial version, since it’s called: Life.

The feeling that you are with the right person is crazy, frightening and utterly liberating. It opens up new doors, which existence were hidden from me. Realising, that I can rely on somebody so immaculately … it’s awesome!

So now I think I might understand such decisions.

[ it doesn’t know that I would do it right now … it’s far from me ;]

The Door

ps. this post is a duplicate of my private journal’s entry
About yorkketchikan

I'm just a boy from Europe, as i was told. I'm young, but not for so far, it's not fair -i know it. This isn't my native language, but i'm trying. Started this one for no better purposes than writing in English, because lots of things come to my mind at first in English, sometimes it's disturbing, sometimes not. I love books, rather said: fond of them. I'm not alike anyone else, maybe this is the main problem, not following the mainstream.... If you corner me, I will come out swinging, taking you with me to the seventh hell of the seventh hell. View all posts by yorkketchikan

Leave a Reply

